Oscars Week: Who we’re rooting for tonight

wpid-Jennifer-Lawrence-American-Hustle-04

Best Picture: 12 Years a Slave
Didn’t see it, which makes this as good a time as any to outline my weaknesses. I didn’t see “Captain Phillips,” “Gravity,” “Nebraska,” or “Philomena,” which means this post isn’t necessarily Oscars predictions. Instead, I’m choosing to root for “12 Years a Slave.” Why? I didn’t think any of the others were deserving, so I sided with a critical favorite. I certainly wouldn’t be upset if “American Hustle” won, but I don’t think it will.

Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey
McConaughey is the only horse left in the race as far as I’m concerned. I thought Christian Bale was excellent in “American Hustle,” but until seeing McConaughey I didn’t know any better. His transformation into Ron Woodroof was awe inspiring. He maintained a powerful presence on screen.

Best Actress: Amy Adams
Cate Blanchett is considered a heavy favorite for her role in “Blue Jasmine.” Woody Allen’s film isn’t great; in fact, it borders on good. Blanchett takes on the bravest role in the film and it’s a big challenge. She’s impressive, but Adams has the backing of a great performance and rewatchable movie. She outperformed the boys club in “American Hustle” and accompanied her excellent season with a fantastic performance in “Her,” as Amy, an adorable documentary filmmaker. It’s about time for the fifth-time nominee to get her statue.

Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto
It’s not even close.

Best Supporting Actress: Jennifer Lawrence
I still love Tiffany from “Silver Linings Playbook” and I was completely in love with Lawrence’s character in “American Hustle” this year. I wrote about it in my review, but she plays such a snappy, confident woman who is so impressively well read. Her character spent all of her time reading every book and magazine and I found that so incredible about her character. She benefits from David O. Russell writing that in the script, but Lawrence’s snark and presence come through in what she does with the character.

Leave a Reply

